Quintet for the End of Time


Performance Date:

October 23rd  at Landesmusikakademie NRW, Heek, Germany

October 25th at Romaneum Concert Hall, Neuss Germany

Sebastian Lambertz (Clarinet), Almuth Siegel (Violin), Samuel Pierce-Ruhland (Cello), and Nenad Lucic (Piano). 

"Quartet for the End of Time" was composed during the second World War in a prisoner-of-war camp. Olivier Messiaen met three other musicians there: a clarinetist, a cellist and a violinist, and wrote the piece with them in mind. After obtaining permission from the German guards, the four of them premiered Messiaen's work at the camp. Today, "Quartet for the End of Time" remains a poignant reminder of the tragedies of WWII, but it also expresses a desire to reach out of our physical troubles and into a universal peace for all mankind.

The Quartet for the End of Time is a known masterwork that associates with political, cultural and historical discourse of the twentieth century.  It is academically significant but yet, complicated and distinctive work of music to penetrate the broad audience. In this performance, the video serves as an alternate instrument that performs through visual composition. It is a visual collage that analyze the context of the piece and motive from composer's interpretation. The visual consists of precarious motion of linear strokes, constant exchange between abstract and concrete images, and contradiction between colors and textures that arouse various emotions. 


Video Excerpt II.

Stop Motion Video. since 2015 - ongoing.

Video Excerpt III

Stop motion video.