Screen Shot 2019-04-07 at 8.23.58 PM.png

Quintet for the End of Time

Quintet for the End of Time

Performed at Landesmusikakademie NRW, Heek and Romaneum Concert Hall, Neus, Germany.

Video/Performance Full Running Time: 57min

"Quartet for the End of Time" was composed during the second World War in a prisoner-of-war camp. Olivier Messiaen met three other musicians there: a clarinetist, a cellist and a violinist, and wrote the piece with them in mind. After obtaining permission from the German guards, the four of them premiered Messiaen's work at the camp. Today, "Quartet for the End of Time" remains a poignant reminder of the tragedies of WWII, but it also expresses a desire to reach out of our physical troubles and into a universal peace for all mankind.

The Quartet for the End of Time is a known masterwork that associates with political, cultural and historical discourse of the twentieth century. It is academically significant but yet, complicated and distinctive work of music to penetrate the broad audience. In this performance, the video serves as an alternate instrument that performs through visual composition. It is a visual collage that analyze the context of the piece and motive from composer's interpretation.

Media Design by SooA Kim


Sebastian Lambertz (Clarinet), Almuth Siegel (Violin), Samuel Pierce-Ruhland (Cello), and Nenad Lečić (Piano).